2018 Race-track.com  All rights reserved.


Kevin Tessner Takes Big 10 Shootout Victory


Kevin Tessner claimed the victory in Saturday night's Big 10 City Late Model Feature in only his 2nd start in the Davis Racing #95. Tessner has over 50 victories in the past decade at Cherokee in the limited sportsman division, more than any other competitor. In Saturday's feature, Tessner competed against some of the drivers he raced against while racking up all the limited sportsman victories. Second place finisher Roger Pate is one of them. Pate and Tessner have raced each other in at least 3 divisions over the last 10 to 12 years. This time they battled for the lead for several laps halfway through the $1,200 to win feature. Pate, a 3 time winner in 2006, finished 2nd ahead of Chris Steele, Brian Lane and Chris Ferguson. Buddy Smith was 6th with Owen Osteen finishing 7th. The rest of the top 10 were Brad Bivens, Douglas Davis and Rob McLaughlin. Twelve cars started the event.

Roddey Bolin was declared the winner of the limited sportsman feature. Bolin was able to challenge initial winner James Abernathy for the lead before finishing 2nd. Abernathy's engine was protested and found to be illegal giving the win to Bolin. Mike Messer won a 4 car battle for the 3rd finishing position but moved up to 2nd. Danny Laughter was 3rd ahead of Josh Wilkerson, Adam Yarborough and Mike Bivins.

Stacy Brock raced 4 wide for the lead in the super stock 4 cyl division before taking the checkered flag. Brock took his 5th win of 2006 with a trail of thick smoke coming from his car. Ricky Fox, Jonathon Surratt and Tony Adair were the other 3 drivers in the 4 wide race for the lead and they finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th. James Jameson finished 5th.

Jason Jolley beat a 10 car field to claim his first renegade victory of the season. Josh Ayers finished 2nd with Shane McDaniel 3rd. Nathan Grigg and Brian Kuykendall crashed at the checkers but finished 4th and 5th. Jolley and Ayers won heat races.

Tack Brown was back in victory lane after winning another action packed street stock 4 cyl race. Gerald Miller was 2nd over Mark Harris, Billy West and Scott Dameron. Miller, Brown and Nick Walker were the 3 heat race winners. Twenty two cars started.

Devin Williams got by Adam Vandiver for the lead and went on to win his 3rd young guns race of the season. Vandiver finished 2nd ahead of Patrick Henderson, Brianna Yelton and Drew Foster. Vandiver and Foster won heat races.
June 1 (Thursday)
practice for all divisions
6pm - 9pm
stands free
pits $10
June 3
all 6 classes on the program
gates open at 5
racing at 8
Cherokee County school students get in free with their school ID
June 10
City Late Model Big 10 Shootout
$1,200 to win
$100 to start
June 17
Southern All Stars East
$4,000 to win super late models
Posted by n/a


Powered by
Wayne Clayton

This web site was created for RACE-TRACK.com by WayneClayton. All materials, both visual and written, are property of RACE-TRACK.com and Wayne Clayton. Duplication, replication, or other un-authorized use of this web site, or materials within are strictly prohibited. Where applicable, violations will be prosecuted to the fullest extent possible under law.