2018 Race-track.com  All rights reserved.


Ivey Gets Biggest Career Win In Blue/Gray 100

11-15 & 11-16

The Headknocker Petey Ivey led the last few laps of Sunday's $10,000 Blue Gray 100 to claim his biggest career victory.

Ivey started in 13th but put himself in position to take advantage of blown tires by several other front runners.

Dennis "Rambo" Franklin started alongside pole sitter Chris Madden and jumped out to a sizeable lead for the first 20 to 25 laps. Madden held the 2nd position early with Jeremy Clements, Ricky Weeks and Mike Duvall following. Rambo maintained a 10 to 15 car length lead except in lapped traffic until lap 38. Rambo's #2 Barry Wright Race Car rolled to a stop in turn 4 on lap 38 with a blown right rear tire. Rambo was the first of the front runners to blow a tire but not the last. Jeremy Clements had taken the 2nd spot from Madden and became the new leader when Rambo was forced to pit. For most of the next 18 laps, Clements had a 3 car length advantage over Madden with Weeks close behind Madden. Veterans Mike Duvall and Skip Arp were behind them swapping the 4th and 5th positions until the caution flag flew on lap 66 for Shane Tankersley's lat right rear. Arp held the 4th position until about lap 72 when he went to the pits under green. Jeff Cooke, The 2003 O'Reilly Southern All Stars Rookie of the Year, rolled to a stop on the frontstretch while running in the 7th position on lap 81. When the caution flag came out, Clements' lead was less than two car lengths over Madden but went away altogether on lap 84. Clements rolled to a stop on lap 84 with a blown right rear tire ending his run for his biggest win ever. Clements was also leading a $10,000 race earlier in the season only to blow a right rear tire with 6 laps to go. After following close behind Clements for 46 laps, Madden took over the lead and appeared to be on his way to another big win. Mike Gault, Jimmy Owens and Petey Ivey went by Ronnie Johnson on lap 90 just before Johnson pitted for a new right rear tire. Johnson was running in the 4th position before pitting. When the green flag waved on lap 91, Ivey shot past Gault and Duvall to the 3rd positon behin Weeks (2nd) and Madden. Gault also got by Duvall for 4th. Weeks came to a stop in turn 4 with a flat right rear giving up the 2nd position with 4 laps to go. Madden also had to stop for a flat right rear before another lap could be completed. Duvall was running in the 4th position but also had to pit for a new tire. Ivey led the rest of the way but the next 7 positions changed on the last lap. Gault and Jeff Smith were racing for 2nd when both cars spun in turns 1 and 2 on the last lap. Several cars slowed to avoid the spin while others drove between the cars. Madden had returned to the track and was running in the 6th position before the spin but moved up to 2nd. Ronnie Johnson moved up from 7th to 3rd while Jimmy Owens went from 8th to 5th.

Chris Madden set fast time with a lap of 18.895 and Clint Smith clinched the O'Reilly Southern All Stars championship with his 18th place finish.

For full event resluts including time trials, heats and consis, visit southern-allstars.com.

finishing order
1 Petey Ivey
2 Chris Madden
3 Ronnie Johnson
4 Jeremy Clements
5 Jimmy Owens
6 Ricky Weeks
7 Mike Duvall
8 Jeff Smith
9 Kelly Thacker
10 Mike Gault
11 Brandon Kinzer
12 Dick Schiltz
13 Bryan Hendrix
14 Jeff Cooke
15 Skip Arp
16 David Smith
17 Shane Tankersley
18 Clint Smith
19 Steve Phillips
20 Dennis Franklin
21 Tim McCreadie
22 Royce Bray
23 Steve "HotRod" Lamance
24 Roger Lucas
25 Anthony White

Chris Madden, driving the Barry Wright house car, not only won the pole and his heat race but he also won Saturday's 3 car 6 lap chassis dash. Ronnie Johnson finished 2nd in a Warrior with Jimmy Owens finishing 3rd in a Rocket. Participants were determined by time trials.

Jay Sessoms got his first win of the season over 9 other limited sportsman cars. Scott and Kevin Tessner raced for the lead the first half of the race like they have most of the season. With Scott leading, Kevin on his bumper and Sessoms on Kevin's bumper, the top 3 cars made contact with Scott spinning coming out of turn 4. Kevin was sent to the rear and Sessoms took over the lead. Sessoms went on to lead the rest of the way with David Clay finishing 2nd.
Scott and Kevin made a 3 wide pass on the last lap to finish 3rd and 4th while Johnny Broome finished in 5th.

Jamie Nodine held a huge lead over 6 other late model sportsman cars on his way to another victory. Kenny Rominger Jr finished in 2nd and was followed by Jeff Gibson, Jerry Jennings and Van Pitt.

Bobby Caldwell led every lap of Saturday's renegade feature but wouldn't accept a post race protest. Brian Kuykendall was awarded the win over Kenneth Deese, Heath Williams, Nathan Pierce and Lloyd Burgess.

Barry Bryant picked up his 11th win of 2003 in the super stock 4 cyl. division. Bryant and Brian Kuykendall ran the first lap side by side before Bryant was able to get and keep the lead. Kuykendall fell back to 5th but had worked his way back up to 2nd when the checkered flag fell but his finish didn't stand. He was disqualified when his car failed to meet the minimum weight requirement. Shane Laughter moved up to 2nd and was followed by Mike Harris, Stacey Brock and Benji Griffen.

Scott Bishop, 12 year old grandson of legendary Billy "Nightstalker" Bishop, picked up his first ever win in the street stock 4 cyl. division. Bishop held about a 2 car length lead for most of the race over runner up Monty Davis. Jason Owens finished in 3rd with Dennis Kirk and Roger Terry rounding out the top 5.

Sun. Nov.23
limited sportsman
late model sportsman
super stock 4
street stock 4

stands $10
pits $20

gates open at 11am
driver's meeting at 1pm
racing at 2pm

Nov. 28, 29 & 30
World Crown Four Cylinder Nationals
$5,000 to win super stock 4 cyl
$1,500 to win street stock 4 cyl

racing at 2pm Sat. and Sun. afternoons
(Nov.29 and 30)
practice Fri. night (Nov.28) 6pm til 10p
Posted by n/a


Powered by
Wayne Clayton

This web site was created for RACE-TRACK.com by WayneClayton. All materials, both visual and written, are property of RACE-TRACK.com and Wayne Clayton. Duplication, replication, or other un-authorized use of this web site, or materials within are strictly prohibited. Where applicable, violations will be prosecuted to the fullest extent possible under law.